Dealer vs dealer

Bullion.com vs APMEX: Sister Companies, Different Shopping Experiences

Both belong to Bullion International Group, part of MKS PAMP GROUP. APMEX is the huge, full-service store; Bullion.com is the lean one with a price match. Here's how to pick.

Updated November 20268 min readBy the SideBySide Gold editorial team
On this page
  1. The ownership link most comparisons miss
  2. Company snapshot
  3. Catalog: everything store vs focused shop
  4. Payment methods and price tiers
  5. Who each one suits on day one
  6. Shipping and insurance
  7. Selling back
  8. Price match: the useful twist
  9. Extras beyond buying and selling
  10. What we couldn't confirm
  11. Which one fits you
  12. A five-minute way to decide
  13. Frequently asked questions

How we make money: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend or how we rank options. Learn more.

The short version

  • APMEX and Bullion.com are sister brands under Bullion International Group, part of MKS PAMP GROUP.
  • APMEX is the bigger, older operation: Oklahoma City based, about 26 years in business, and a US Mint Authorized Purchaser.
  • Both price cash-like payments lowest and cards highest; Bullion.com publishes its exact discounts (4% bank, 2% crypto).
  • Both advertise free shipping over $199.
  • APMEX publishes a buyback program with prepaid insured labels; Bullion.com has none posted, but it will price-match APMEX's premium on identical items.

Pick APMEX if you want the biggest catalog, collector and graded coins, a published buyback, and extras like recurring purchases. Pick Bullion.com if you're buying common bullion, paying by bank, and want the lowest premium on a plain coin or bar. Because Bullion.com will match APMEX's premium on identical items, the two often end up close on price for staples, and the deciding factors become service and selling back.

We haven't bought from either dealer for this article. It's built from each company's published policies and press releases as of October 29, 2026. Bullion.com is an affiliate partner of this site; APMEX is not.

These aren't independent rivals. Bullion International Group (BIG) lists APMEX, OneGold, MTB, GOLD AVENUE, Bullion.com, and the Bullion Card as its brands in its April 2026 press release, and its About page calls BIG an MKS PAMP GROUP company. APMEX's own August 2026 anniversary release says the same thing from its side.

That matters for two reasons. First, comparing them is more like comparing two stores owned by the same retailer than two competitors. Second, if you're spreading orders across dealers to reduce company risk, buying from both doesn't spread it as far as you might think.

Company snapshot

APMEXBullion.com
Legal nameAPMEX LLC (privacy policy also names The American Precious Metals Exchange, Inc.)Bullion.com, LLC
LocationOklahoma City, OklahomaMailing address in Wilmington, Delaware
Time in businessAbout 26 years, per its August 2026 releaseNot stated on its site
ParentBullion International Group (MKS PAMP GROUP)Bullion International Group (MKS PAMP GROUP)
US Mint Authorized PurchaserYes, per its releaseNot stated
Size claims500+ employees, 2 million+ customers, 30,000+ products (company figures)Small team with 50+ years of combined experience (company description)

APMEX's address comes from its privacy policy; Bullion.com's from its user agreement. Size figures are the companies' own and weren't independently verified.

Catalog: everything store vs focused shop

APMEX says it stocks more than 30,000 products. Beyond bullion it sells collector coins, graded coins, and a long list of mint and private issues. It also runs AutoInvest for recurring purchases and offers the Bullion Card rewards credit card, according to its product pages.

Bullion.com sells gold, silver, and platinum with a focus on popular items. Its comparison catalog covered staples like Gold and Silver Eagles, Buffalos, Maple Leafs, small gold bars, and silver bars up to a kilo. Minimum orders are 1 oz of gold, 20 oz of silver, and 1 oz of platinum, per its payment FAQ.

If you know exactly what common coin or bar you want, both will have it. If you want a specific year, a proof, a graded slab, or palladium, start at APMEX.

Payment methods and price tiers

Both dealers charge less for cash-like payments. The difference is in how clearly they publish it.

PaymentBullion.comAPMEX
Bank wire4% off list; $1,500 minimumLowest tier (Check/Wire column)
eCheck / check4% off list; six-business-day holdLowest tier (Check/Wire column)
Crypto2% off via BitPayMiddle tier
Card / PayPalFull list priceHighest tier

APMEX product pages show three price columns, Check/Wire, Crypto, and CC/PayPal, with volume breaks at 1-9, 10-19, 20-99, and 100+ units. We couldn't load its payment policy page to confirm the exact percentage gap between the columns, so compare the column that matches how you'll pay.

Tip

Volume tiers are why bigger orders usually carry a lower premium per ounce: the dealer's fixed costs for handling, packing, and shipping get spread across more metal. That's a reason to buy what you'd buy anyway in one order rather than several small ones, not a reason to buy more than you planned.

Who each one suits on day one

A first-time buyer ordering a single 1 oz gold coin gets roughly the same core experience at either: a cash discount for paying by bank, free shipping over $199, and insured delivery. The differences show up at the edges.

  • Small silver orders: Bullion.com requires at least 20 oz of silver per order, per its payment FAQ. If you want to start with a few silver coins, check APMEX's minimums in the cart.
  • Large wires: Bullion.com's wire minimum is $1,500, and orders of $500,000 or more may require a deposit and must be wired.
  • Repeat buying: APMEX's AutoInvest is built for scheduled purchases.

Our first-purchase checklist walks through the steps at any dealer.

Shipping and insurance

APMEX advertises free shipping on orders over $199 on its homepage. Bullion.com's shipping FAQ sets the same $199 threshold, charges $9.95 below it, ships by USPS or FedEx, and fully insures orders in transit.

Bullion.com's coverage is voided if you authorize the carrier to leave the package without a signature or with a third party, and standard shipping may not require a signature unless you add it. We weren't able to load APMEX's shipping policy page, so check its carrier and signature rules in the cart before you order.

Selling back

This is the clearest gap. APMEX publishes a Sell to Us program: request a quote online or by phone, lock the price, ship with a prepaid, insured APMEX Logistics label (FedEx or UPS), and get paid after authentication, as soon as the next business day according to APMEX. Insurance applies when you pack and ship by its instructions. It also takes jewelry and mixed scrap through an appraisal kit.

We found no published buyback at Bullion.com. Since the two share a parent, it's reasonable to ask whether Bullion.com customers can sell through APMEX, but nothing we found says there's a special arrangement, so assume you'd sell as a regular APMEX customer. Our guide to selling gold covers how to compare offers.

Price match: the useful twist

Bullion.com's price-match policy names APMEX first among five eligible dealers. It matches the premium over spot on an identical product listed on APMEX's own site. Limited-time deals, quantity-limited specials, sales, bundles, rebates, free-item offers, and pricing errors don't qualify. You request it by phone at 1-833-629-3927.

So when APMEX's regular cash price on a common coin beats Bullion.com's, you can ask Bullion.com to match it. When APMEX is running a sale, the sale price won't count.

Extras beyond buying and selling

APMEX is built as a full precious metals platform. Its product pages advertise AutoInvest for recurring purchases of gold, silver, platinum, and palladium, a satisfaction guarantee offering refunds, returns, or exchanges, and the Bullion Card rewards credit card. APMEX also co-founded OneGold, a digital precious metals platform, according to OneGold's About page, which says OneGold is now a wholly owned APMEX subsidiary.

Bullion.com is simpler. Its extras are its price comparison page, a price-match policy, and a mobile app for comparing dealer prices and setting spot price alerts. Its returns are at the company's discretion, with a possible $35 restocking fee plus market loss, per its user agreement.

If you want a set-and-forget monthly buying plan, APMEX has one built in. If you buy a few times a year and shop on price, Bullion.com's tools are aimed at you.

What we couldn't confirm

A few APMEX policy pages wouldn't load for us during research, so we've left out details we couldn't verify: the exact percentage gap between APMEX's payment tiers, its small-order shipping fee, its signature rules, and its cancellation fee. Check those in your cart or on APMEX's help pages before ordering. We'd rather tell you that than guess.

Which one fits you

Best for selection and selling back

APMEX

The full-service option: a huge catalog, a published buyback with prepaid insured labels, recurring purchase plans, and decades in business.

  • 30,000+ products, including collector and graded coins
  • Published buyback with prepaid insured shipping
  • US Mint Authorized Purchaser
  • Exact payment-method discounts not stated on the pages we could load
  • Sale prices may beat its everyday prices, so timing matters
Best for plain bullion at a low premium

Bullion.com

A lean store from the same parent group, with published cash discounts and a price match that includes APMEX.

  • Clear 4% bank and 2% crypto discounts
  • Price match on APMEX's everyday premium
  • Free insured shipping over $199
  • No published buyback
  • Smaller catalog and short public review record
Compare prices at Bullion.com

A five-minute way to decide

  1. Name the exact product. "1 oz Gold Eagle, random year" is comparable; "a gold coin" isn't.
  2. Open both product pages. Use APMEX's Check/Wire column and Bullion.com's eCheck/wire price if you'll pay by bank.
  3. Work out the premium. Subtract the current spot price from each per-ounce price.
  4. Ask for a match if needed. If APMEX's everyday premium is lower, call Bullion.com.
  5. Weigh the exit. If you want a posted buyback from the seller, APMEX has one.

For more context, see our APMEX review and dealer comparison hub.

See Bullion.com's current premiums

Check its cash price on the coin or bar you want and compare it against APMEX's Check/Wire column.

Compare prices at Bullion.com
Is Bullion.com part of APMEX?

They're sister companies. Bullion International Group, part of MKS PAMP GROUP, lists both APMEX and Bullion.com as brands. We didn't find any public statement that APMEX itself owns Bullion.com.

Is APMEX cheaper than Bullion.com?

Not reliably either way. Prices move hourly and vary by product. Compare the cash price on the identical item, and remember Bullion.com will match APMEX's everyday premium on eligible products.

Does APMEX charge more for credit cards?

Yes. APMEX product pages show separate Check/Wire, Crypto, and CC/PayPal price columns, with Check/Wire the lowest and card/PayPal the highest.

Can I sell gold back to APMEX if I bought it at Bullion.com?

APMEX's buyback is open to sellers generally, so you can request a quote. We found no special arrangement for Bullion.com customers, so expect standard APMEX buyback pricing.

Which is better for a first gold purchase?

Either can work for a single common coin. APMEX gives you more selection and a posted buyback; Bullion.com gives clear cash discounts. Our first-purchase checklist walks through the steps.

  1. BIG completes acquisition of SOLIT Group (Apr 1, 2026) — GlobeNewswire
  2. About — Bullion International Group
  3. APMEX Celebrates 26 Years (Aug 25, 2026) — Yahoo Finance / GlobeNewswire
  4. Sell to Us — APMEX
  5. 1 oz American Gold Eagle BU product page — APMEX
  6. Privacy Policy — APMEX
  7. User Agreement — Bullion.com
  8. Compare Bullion Prices and Price Match — Bullion.com

Not financial advice: This article is educational and is not investment, tax, or legal advice. Prices, fees, and rules change; confirm current terms with the provider and a qualified professional before you buy, sell, or file.